Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Links in Canvas: Home

How to Embed Library Database Articles & Videos into Canvas

Why Link Directly to Library Resources?

Remember, library resources (ebook, articles, and streaming videos) are excellent resources for course content. And linking to library resources serves two purposes:

  1. Library resources are free to students, and direct links to them make it easier for students to access.
  2. Helps you abide by copyright laws.

Yes, you read that last one correctly. Although the licenses for databases vary, many don’t allow you to download copies of articles (such as a pdf) and post them on another site, even within Canvas. Linking to articles in the library databases bypasses the copyright issue because you’re not making a copy. It’s also recommended that you put a citation for the article in your Canvas course (for proper attribution and to model best practices to students). Luckily, many of the library databases have a feature that provides citations in different formats. Just look for words such as “Cite” or “Citation” to locate those.

Please note: When accessing articles, ebooks, and streaming video through the Highline College Library's databases, users will be required to authenticate with their myHighline username and password (the same credentials used for Canvas and email).

How-To Guide for Linking to Articles in Library Databases

How-To Guides for Embedding Library Videos in Canvas

Streaming video is available from the Highline College Library and can be directly embedded into Canvas courses. View the Google Docs below to learn more about how to embed streaming video from the Highline College Library into your Canvas course.

Please note: When accessing articles, ebooks, and streaming video through the Highline College Library's databases, users will be required to authenticate with their myHighline username and password (the same credentials used for Canvas and email).

Ask a Librarian

Highline College Librarians are available to help you via email or chat during the following hours:

Opening Week (9/20-9/26)
Monday & Wednesday: 10am-3pm & 4pm-6pm
Tuesday & Thursday: 10am-3pm

If you need help from a librarian when a Highline College Librarian isn't available, please use the 24/7 chat service.

email icon By Email
refhelp@highline.edu
chat icon By Chat
Ask Us 24/7!
online consultation icon By Consultation
Schedule a Consultation!

Related LibGuides and Resources