Highline College Library: B.A.S. Respiratory Care: Databases

Recommended Databases

In addition to OneSearch, try these other recommended databases for peer reviewed articles.

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL® (Comprehensive nursing & allied health resource) Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Video Tutorial
PubMed This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's free database provides abstracts to articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and more. Interlibrary loan is available for journals that HC library does not own. Ask a librarian for assistance. PubMed Video Tutorial
Medical databases (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Search medical databases in Ebsco including MEDLINE (Pub Med). It provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, it uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Health and Medicine provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Merck Manual Professional Edition This link opens in a new window
Merck Manual offers free access to thousands of articles on health care-related topics, written by medical professionals and aimed at health care professionals, like nurses. Content includes authoritative information about diseases including symptoms and treatments. The manual also contains drug information, medical procedures, and case studies.
Science Direct (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from 1200 Health & Life Sciences journals, 500 Physical Sciences journals, and 750 Social & Behavioral Science journals. Multidisciplinary database.