Need help with Research? Have a general question about the library's resources or services? We're here to help!
There are a number of ways in which you can reach us:
Call a Reference librarian at (206) 592-3232 (on-campus extension 3232) during library hours.
Visit the Reference Desk, located on the Library Plaza Level (2nd Floor) during library hours.
Database vendor servers occasionally become unavailable for short periods. First, try waiting several minutes and then try again. If this does not work try the following options. Please feel free to contact (206)-592-3710, extension 3232, firstname.lastname@example.org) for help navigating these options:
The login page requires that you enter your myHighline login information (learn more about this login). This is a single, standardized login to access Highline computer resources such as Canvas and Library databases.
Your myHighline password needs to be changed every year (12 months). If your password has expired, you will not be able to use the Library databases until you change your password. Please log into myHighline Account Information to see your password expiration date, to change your password, and verify that your account is up-to-date.
If you can not log in please contact Reference at (206)-592-3710 extension 3232 or email them at email@example.com for assistance with your myHighline account. We will help verify that your myHighline account is accurate and up-to-date.
Highline College Registered Public Borrowers
If you are accessing these pages from home, you will be sent to a login page to verify your identity - you need to be a current member of the Highline campus community (a current student, staff, faculty or registered public borrower).
The Library home page.
Make sure that you are starting at the Library website, on our list of online databases, or a link that has highline.edu in the web address. The URLs of our databases change from time to time and the current URLs will be available on the Library website. The Library website is located at http://library.highline.edu.
The login page is at this address: http://moe.highline.edu:2048/login. To log in you need to enter your myHighline login information, then click the "Login" button.
"Public Borrowers" can log in using your Library account information. Click on "Library Account" on the left-hand menu bar and then enter your Library login information.
When you have finished using the databases, you can logout at this address: http://moe.highline.edu:2048/logout . Exiting the browser (closing all browser windows) will also log you out.
There are several areas where Security Settings can be changed. These settings can impact your access to our databases:
If you are unable to log in using your Highline account, then your firewall may be blocking the ports that are used to communicate with the sites that we are providing for your research.
Our security system uses ports 2048 through 2248. These ports need to open on both the firewall that you have on your computer and on the firewall that your Internet Service Provider uses. Please open ports 2048 through 2248 on your firewall and request that the technical support staff at your ISP make sure that these ports are open for you.
For instructions to enable cookies in the most commonly used browser versions, go to: http://www.google.com/cookies.html
Clear cache & browser history
Close any open library web site pages. Then clear the cache, cookies, browser history, and click all the check boxes.
B. Computer Firewall
Another area where problems can occur is in the security settings on your home computer. The security settings can be set in a manner that prevents the database vendor from "trusting" the home computer enough to allow access to their database. Also, your settings may block the ability for the database website to save cookies on your computer, or to install software that is needed in order for the database to work properly. Here is a list of some of the places that home computer security settings are made:
C. Internet Service Provider Firewall
If you are still unable to access Highline's databases, please contact Reference Help: firstname.lastname@example.org or 206-592-3710, extension 3232.