Can't log in to a Highline Library Database from home?
See Off-campus Access to Databases Help if you are having difficulty accessing library resources from off-campus.
All of the databases are available off campus with myHighline (Canvas) username and password. Ask a librarian if you need assistance. These links will open in a new window.
Trade, Industry-focused information - journal articles, market reports, industry reports and news
Academic OneFile is an extensive database of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. Over 9,000 full-text periodicals.
A scholarly, full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers virtually every academic subject.
From the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. the database covers dates back to 1970 and includes more than 4.8 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
Alt HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness including full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. This unique database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1693 to 1877.
Full text articles from more than 100 APA (American Psychological Association) journals.
More than 436,000 full-text biographies from sources like Biography Today, Salem Press, Oxford University Press, Biography, and Columbia University Press.
Open access publisher of a number of medical and biological journals.
More than 100 full-text journals covering a broad range of disciplines, including medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences.
Business Source Complete is a comprehensive scholarly database covering all disciplines in business including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. It contains nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, company profiles, case studies, industry reports, SWOT analyses, trade journals and more.
The Chronicle is the essential source for "news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators."
Access to America's historic newspapers. Search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922.
CINAHL® (Comprehensive nursing & allied health resource) Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Video Tutorial
Provides interdisciplinary and news context including audio and broadcast video.
Computer Source covers current trends in high technology. It offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications. Also searches Academic Search Complete at the same time.
"covers an enormous range of subjects from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry."
Full-text from more than 500 journals & magazines, nearly 2,650 full-text evidence based health reports, about 500 images & diagrams, and more than 240 animations.
Offers concise, reliable, and up-to-date reports over 200 countries of the world and the 50 States. Culture Grams go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver an insider's perspective on daily life and culture, including the history, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. It also offers a children's edition.
Collection of journals that explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community.
Ebook Academic provides access to over 200,000+ eBook titles that represent a broad range of academic subjects. For help using eBooks, see Ebsco eBooks guide with Video Tutorials
Educator's Reference Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the 800 full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.
Elementary database "delivers age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content that covers a broad range of subjects, like animals, geography, health, influential people, literature, social studies, sports, and technology." It includes articles, magazines, eBooks, periodicals, reference materials, and more
A gateway to a wide variety of sources including TV and radio transcripts, magazine articles, reference books, newspapers, maps, pictures, audio and video clips. Contains more than 2,500 full-text magazines, newspapers, reference books, and transcripts
The Encyclopedia of Social Work is a continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP). Contains over 400 overview articles on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is the major index for educational journals and documents. Interlibrary loan is available for journals and documents that HC library does not own. Ask a librarian for assistance.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. This link will search ERIC along with Academic Search Complete that has an extensive collection of full text articles. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Interlibrary loan is available for journals and documents that HC library does not own. Ask a librarian for assistance.
Developed by Seattle’s Harborview Medical Center, Ethnomed provides culturally-responsive medical resources to support health care workers caring for patients from King County’s primary immigrant and refugee populations.
Choose from more than 26,000 educational streaming videos in dozens of subject areas.
Gale Business: Insights is a source for international business intelligence offering case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries.
Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes previous topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more, plus new topics including cryptocurrency, transgender rights, and the 2020 elections.
Access to a collection of over 60 electronic encyclopedias on a variety of topics including business, law, history, medicine, science and many other subjects. Find more electronic encyclopedias by accessing A-Z List .
A database designed to support global awareness. Authoritative content empowers learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Target audience are middle and high school students.
Google Books is a tool for searching the full text of books. If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given us permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Only some of the articles are available in full text. Google Scholar also provides free access to legal cases. Coverage includes U.S. state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950, U.S. federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts since 1923 and U.S. Supreme Court cases since 1791. Interlibrary loan is available for journals and documents that HC library does not own. Ask a librarian for assistance.
GovInfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. GovInfo provides free public access to official publications, including legal publications, from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Health and Medicine provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Health & Wellness Resource Center offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.
Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
HEALWA is an online library for healthcare providers in Washington State. HEALWA assures access to current, evidence-based clinical information and educational resources to eligible professions in partnership with the Washington Department of Health (DOH). Over 20 licensed health professionals are eligible for free access including registered nurses. Sign up for an account with your license number and email. Contact refhelp@highline.edu
"Explore topics within business and economics, geography, government, history, literature, science and health, social issues, and more The database Integrates reference content, biographies, primary sources, multimedia, critical essays, news, academic journals and more,"
The database "is designed for middle- and high-school students and provides access to age-appropriate, authoritative digital content...Contains magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books covering a wide range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies."
U.S. and world history from sources like History Today, Archaeology, Civil War Times, nearly 2,000 full-text reference and non-fiction books, over 56,000 historical documents, and 80+ hours of historical video
"History Study Center is an online resource providing a vast collection of digitized primary and secondary sources for the study of history. "
The database covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Sources are both domestic and international in range and scope. More than 1.17 million records dating back to 1938 covering more than 800 publications. This is a citation only database. Contact a librarian to find the full-text.
Access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural, and economic aspects of travel and tourism. Sub-set of Academic OneFile.
Kanopy is a streaming video service, and some of the titles are available to Highline. It includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, and more. If a title is not available, please fill out the online request form.
Access to full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals.
More than 250 full-text publications and reference books from sources like NOLO Press and the American Bar Assn, state specific legal forms and a user-friendly interface.
Designed specifically for high school libraries, MAS Ultra School Edition contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. It also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Search medical databases in Ebsco including MEDLINE (Pub Med). It provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, it uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
MedicLatina is a unique collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This Spanish language database contains full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.
From the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
An online health information resource from National Library of Medicine (NLM) with "high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted and easy to understand, in both English and Spanish." Sections include health topics, medical tests, genetics, medical encyclopedia, drugs & supplements, healthy recipes and special collections. Health information in multiple languages.
Merck Manual Consumer offers free access to thousands of articles on health care-related topics, written in language for non-medical professionals. A great resource to share with patients.
Merck Manual offers free access to thousands of articles on health care-related topics, written by medical professionals and aimed at health care professionals, like nurses. Content includes authoritative information about diseases including symptoms and treatments. The manual also contains drug information, medical procedures, and case studies.
Designed for middle school, the database provides newspapers, magazines, primary sources, reference, and multimedia. Covers most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, U.S. and world history, literature, and many more.
Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. It also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags
Offers career exploration for Spanish speakers from U.S. Department of Labor.
Contains more than 200 full-text U.S. and international newspapers including the Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star and more. In addition, contains over 300 full-text regional newspapers. Provides complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more
Published by U.S. Department of Labor, O*NET searches over 900 occupations. For each career, it provides a comprehensive description including work activities, required knowledge and training, abilities, educational programs, job openings, salary by state or zip code, and more. There is also a tool for Veterans to enter their MOS to find related civilian careers. In addition, it provides a number of tools to help you assess your career interests and find careers which match your current education and training.
An annual government publication that provides information on a wide variety of careers
One Search searches across nearly all of the library's databases. Start your research here. It includes books, ebooks, journals, articles, videos, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics and more.
Coverage of 450 topics and growing with point/counterpoint essays and full-text from political magazines like The Nation, The New Republic, Congressional Digest, Human Events, National Review and more to cover the full spectrum of opinion. Also content from leading newspapers, radio & TV transcripts, primary source documents, and more.
Primary Search, designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library children’s rooms, contains full text for more than 70 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a comprehensive collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
ProQuest contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazines, journals, and newspapers. It is a collection of databases including Research Library, Consumer Health, ABI/Inform Trade & Industry, and U.S. Newsstream (newspapers).
A collection of resources for the study of literature in K-12 schools.
"Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals."
PTSD pubs is "a freely available, bibliographic database providing access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events...The database offers a custom PTSD and trauma focused thesaurus to help you create a precise search. "
The Public Library of Science is a collection of open-access peer-reviewed journals covering specific areas within science and medicine.
National Library of Medicine's free database provides abstracts to articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and more. Interlibrary loan is available for journals that HC library does not own. Ask a librarian for assistance. PubMed Video Tutorial
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Search along with Business Source Complete.
A gateway to government science information and research results including PubMed and other government databases. Searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 15 federal agencies.
Search for articles from 1200 Health & Life Sciences journals, 500 Physical Sciences journals, and 750 Social & Behavioral Science journals. Multidisciplinary database.
More than 200 full-text science periodicals including Aviation Week, Discover, New Scientist, and Astronomy along with more than 800 reference books. Also includes more than 270,000 high quality images from National Geographic, UPI, Getty, NASA, Nature Picture Library and more
Designed for upper elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas including history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. SIRS Discoverer provides full text access to newspapers, magazines, and reference books.
Contains more than 400 full-text journals, 600 business videos, over 450 full-text reference books, state specific resources, start-up business plans, and more.
Smarthistory.org is a free and open, not-for-profit, art history textbook.
Content includes evidence-based quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, practices & skills, practice guidelines, clinical assessment tools, drug information, and full-text from top social work & psychology journals.
Statista provides statistics, consumer survey results, and industry studies on over 60,000 topics. To learn more, watch the Statista video tutorial
A collection of 30+ full-length, streaming, motion pictures (movies) including both classic and contemporary films.
(T-word) is Highline's student newspaper and is proudly written, edited, and designed by Highline students. The T-word has won numerous state and national awards and has maintained a tradition of excellence for over 40-years. As of April 2020, due to the global pandemic of COVID-19, the newspaper has been moved to an online blog format. For earlier issues 1962-2019, see Thunderword Archive.
Highline's student newspaper 1962 - 2019 arranged by date. As of April 2020, due to the global pandemic of COVID-19, the Thunderword newspaper has been moved to an online blog format. This can be found at the newspaper's website
“Contains scholarly journals and magazines that can be used by novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Updated daily, this resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.”
US Newsstream contains the most recent U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. It offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal.
US West Newsstream contains recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, and newswires in full-text. West Newsstream covers news sources from Alaska, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington.
SEARCH provides access to more than 8 million records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines. Content includes the Library's Catalog and Articles database (AGRICOLA), PubAg, the NAL Digital Collections (NALDC), and Special Collections materials.
Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. This collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.
The resource provides "current and applicable periodical content to aid in career and vocational research -- from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals."
"Washington's one-stop source for career and education planning." Created by Workforce Training and Education Coordinating Board.
Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
“Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines for use by novice historians and advanced academic researchers. This database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.”