Skip to Main Content

APIDA (Asian Pacific Islander Desi Americans) Racial Justice: Literature & Memoir

APIDA Memoirs

The Woman Warrior: Memoirs of a Girlhood among Ghosts by Maxine Hong Kingston
Call Number: 979.461092 K55w 1989

ISBN: 9780679721888

Main Collection--4th Floor
America Is in the Heart: A Personal History by Carlos Bulosan
Call Number: 818.5209 B939a 2014

ISBN: 9780295993539

Main Collection--4th Floor
Also available online through EBSCO eBook Collection
The Song Poet: A Memoir of My Father by Kao Kalia Yang
Call Number: 305.895972 Y22s 2016

ISBN: 9781627794947

Main Collection--3rd Floor
The Best We Could Do: An Illustrated Memoir by Thi Bui
Call Number: 973.049592 B932b 2017

ISBN: 9781419718779

Main Collection--4th Floor
Also available online through EBSCO eBook Collection
Restoried Selves: Autobiographies of Queer Asian / Pacific American Activists by Kevin Kumashiro
ISBN: 1560234628

Publication Date: 2004

Available online through EBSCO eBook Collection--Click book title for access
Growing up Asian American by Maria Hong; Bill Adler; Stephen Sumida
Call Number: 810.80895 G884 1995

ISBN: 0380724189

Main Collectionn--4th Floor
The Latehomecomer: A Hmong Family Memoir by Kao Kalia Yang
Call Number: 959.4 Y22L 2008

ISBN: 1566892082

Main Collection--4th Floor
Dia's Story Cloth by Dia Cha; Chue Cha; Nhia Thao Cha (illustrators)
Call Number: 959.4 C426d 1996

ISBN: 1880000342

Main Collection--4th Floor
The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down: A Hmong child, Her American Doctors, and the Collision of Two Cultures by Anne Fadiman
Call Number: 610.6963 F145s 1997

ISBN: 0374267812

Main Collection--3rd Floor
The Adventures of Eddie Fung: Chinatown Kid, Texas Cowboy, Prisoner of War by Judy Yung (editor)
ISBN: 0295802057

Publication Date: 2007

Available online through EBSCO eBook Collection--Click book title for access
Dirty River: A Queer Femme of Color Dreaming Her Way Home by Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha
Call Number: 306.76 P614d 2017

ISBN: 9781551526003

Main Collection--3rd Floor
Paper Bullets: A Fictional Autobiography by Kip Fulbeck
Call Number: 813.6 F962p 2001

ISBN: 9780295980782

Main Collection--4th Floor
Also available online through EBSCO eBook Collection
Growing up Brown: Memoirs of a Filipino American by Peter M. Jamero
ISBN: 0295986425

Publication Date: 2006

Available online through EBSCO eBook Collection--Click book title for access
Gasa Gasa Girl Goes to Camp by Lily Yuriko Nakai Havey; Cherstin Lyon (Foreword by)
ISBN: 1607813459

Publication Date: 2014-06-14

Available online through EBSCO eBook Collection--Click book title for access
Bento Box in the Heartland: My Japanese Girlhood in Whitebread America by Linda Furiya
Call Number: 973.04956 F984b 2006

ISBN: 158005191X

Main Collection--4th Floor
They Called Us Enemy by George Takei; Justin Eisinger; Steven Scott; Harmony Becker (illustrator)
Call Number: 940.547273 T136t 2019

ISBN: 9781603094504

Main Collection--4th Floor
Diary of a Tokyo Teen: A Japanese-American Girl Travels to the Land of Trendy Fashion, High-Tech Toilets and Maid Cafes by Christine Mari Inzer
ISBN: 480531396X

Publication Date: 2016

Available online through EBSCO eBook Collection--Click book title for access
Sleep in Me by Jon Pineda
ISBN: 1283050846

Publication Date: 2010

Available online through EBSCO eBook Collection--Click book title for access
Vietnamerica: A Family's Journey by G. B. Tran
Call Number: 973.049592 T772v 2010

ISBN: 9780345508720

Main Collection--4th Floor
Not Quite Not White: Losing and Finding Race in America by Sharmila Sen
Call Number: 304.873054 S474n 2018

ISBN: 0143131389

Main Collection--3rd Floor
Yes, I'm Hot in This: The Hilarious Truth about Life in a Hijab by Huda Fahmy
Call Number: 305.6970973 F157y 2018

ISBN: 9781507209349

Main Collection--3rd Floor
Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood by Marjane Satrapi
Call Number: 955.0542092 S253p 2003

ISBN: 0375422307

Main Collection--4th Floor
Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi (director)
Call Number: 791.4372 P466 2008

Media Collection--2nd Floor

APIDA Literature

The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen
Call Number: 813.6 N5768s 2015

ISBN: 0802123457

Main Collection--4th Floor
The Refugees by Viet Thanh Nguyen
Call Number: 813.6 N5768r 2017

ISBN: 0802127363

Main Collection--4th Floor
Rolling the R's by R. Zamora Linmark
Call Number: 813.54 L757r 2016

ISBN: 9781885030511

Main Collection--4th Floor
Engine Empire by Cathy Park Hong
Call Number: 811.6 H772e 2013

ISBN: 039334648X

Main Collection--4th Floor
The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan
Call Number: 813.54 T161j 1991

ISBN: 067972768X

Main Collection--4th Floor
The Face: A Time Code by Ruth Ozeki
Call Number: 813.54 O99f 2016

ISBN: 1632060523

Main Collection--4th Floor
Turning Japanese by MariNaomi
Call Number: 973.049592 M339t 2016

ISBN: 9781937541163

Main Collection--4th Floor
Noli Me Tángere = Touch Me Not by Jose Rizal
Call Number: 863.5 R627n 2006

ISBN: 9780143039693

Main Collection--4th Floor
On Such a Full Sea by Chang-rae Lee
Call Number: 813.54 L477co 2014

ISBN: 9781594632891

Main Collection--4th Floor
The Gangster We Are All Looking For by Thi Diem Thuy Le
Call Number: 813.6 L433g 2004

ISBN: 0375700021

Main Collection--4th Floor
The Shadow Hero by Gene Luen Yang; Sonny Liew (illustrator)
Call Number: 813.6 Y22s 2014

ISBN: 9781596436978

Main Collection--4th Floor
Level Up by Gene Luen Yang; Thien Pham (illustrator)
Call Number: 741.5973 Y22L 2011

ISBN: 1596432357

Main Collection--4th Floor
Shortcomings by Adrian Tomine
Call Number: 813.6 T657s 2009

ISBN: 9781897299753

Main Collection--4th Floor
Huihui: Navigating Art and Literature in the Pacific by Jeffrey Carroll; Brandy Nalani McDougall; Georganne Nordstrom (editors)
Call Number: 899 H899 2015

ISBN: 0824838955

Main Collection--4th Floor
Iep Jāltok: Poems from a Marshallese Daughter by Kathy Jetnil-Kijiner
Call Number: 899.5 J58i 2017

ISBN: 9780816534029

Main Collection--4th Floor
Bamboo among the Oaks: Contemporary Writing by Hmong Americans by Mai Neng Moua (editor)
Call Number: 810.80895 B199 2002

ISBN: 087351436X

Main Collection--4th Floor
I Hotel: [A Novel] by Karen Tei Yamashita
Call Number: 813.54 Y19i 2010

ISBN: 9781566892391

Main Collection--4th Floor
Aiiieeeee!: An Anthology of Asian American Writers by Frank Chin; Jeffery Paul Chan; Lawson Fusao Inada; Shawn Wong; (editors)
Call Number: 810.8 A289 2019

ISBN: 0295746769

Main Collection--4th Floor
Indivisible: An Anthology of Contemporary South Asian American Poetry by Neelanjana Banerjee; Summi Kaipa; Pireeni Sundaralingam
ISBN: 155728931X

Publication Date: 2010

Available online through EBSCO eBook Collection--Click book title for access
When the Emperor Was Divine: A Novel by Julie Otsuka
Call Number: 813.6 O88w 2003

ISBN: 0385721811

Main Collection--4th Floor
Free Food for Millionaires by Min Jin Lee
Call Number: 813.6 L479f 2007

ISBN: 0446581089

Main Collection--4th Floor
The Mountains Sing: A Novel by Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai
Call Number: 823.92 N576m 2020

ISBN: 161620818X

Main Collection--4th Floor
When I Grow up I Want to Be a List of Further Possibilities by Chen Chen
Call Number: 811.00895 C518w 2017

ISBN: 1942683332

Main Collection--4th Floor
Also available online through EBSCO
eBook Collection
From Unincorporated Territory [Guma'] by Craig Santos Perez
Call Number: 899.5 S237f 2014

ISBN: 1890650919

Main Collection--4th Floor
Tales of the Tikongs by Epeli Hau'ofa
Call Number: 899.5 H373t 1994

ISBN: 0824815947

Main Collection--4th Floor
Flying Fox in a Freedom Tree and Other Stories by Albert Wendt
Call Number: 823.914 W473f 1999

ISBN: 0824818237

Main Collection--4th Floor
Night Is a Sharkskin Drum by Haunani-Kay Trask
Call Number: 899.42 T775n 2002

ISBN: 0824825705

Main Collection--4th Floor

APIDA Children's Literature

Talk Story: APALA and AILA, AAPI Booklists by and for AAPI Youth and Families

No ka ʻelepaio kolohe = Naughty Elepaio by Malia Kruger; Eve Furchgott (illustrator)
Call Number: Level-B 499.42 K94n 2008

ISBN: 087336158X

ESL Collection--3rd Floor
Festival of Colors by Surishtha Sehgal; Kabir Sehgal; Vashti Harrison (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Sehga

ISBN: 1481420496

Publication Date: 2018

Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
The Wheels on the Tuk Tuk by Kabir Sehgal; Surishtha Sehgal; Jess Golden (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Segha

ISBN: 9781481448314

Publication Date: 2016

Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Bee-Bim Bop! by Linda Sue Park; Ho Baek Lee (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Park

ISBN: 9780618265114

Publication Date: 2005

Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Mommy's Khimar by Jamilah Thompkins-Bigelow; Ebony Glenn (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Thomp

ISBN: 9781534400597

Publication Date: 2018

Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
The Name Jar by Yangsook Choi (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Choi

ISBN: 0440417996

Publication Date: 2003

Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
ESL Collection--3rd Floor--Level-B 813.54 C545n 2003
Eyes That Kiss in the Corners by Joanna Ho; Dung Ho (illustrator)
ISBN: 9780062915627

Publication Date: 2021

KCLS eBook--Click book title for access
Pele, the Fire Goddess by Dietrich Varez; Pua K. Kanahele
Call Number: 398.2 V296p 1991

ISBN: 0930897528

Children's Collection--3rd Floor
Aia He Kāheka = There's a Tide Pool by Makela Bruno Kidani; Maile Ka'ai (illustrator)
Call Number: Level-B 499.42 B898a 2010

ISBN: 0873362748

ESL Collection--3rd Floor
Home for Chinese New Year: A Story Told in English and Chinese by Wei Jie; Xu Can (illustrator)
Call Number: Level-B 813.6 W415h 2017

ISBN: 9781602209992

ESL Collection--3rd Floor

Streaming Media

Filipina poets of Hawai’, Mixcloud Podcast
This episode is by three Filipina poets of Hawai’i: Marie Anamong Ramos, Demiliza Sagaral Saramosing, and Darlene Rodrigues. They reflect on the recent cases of anti-Asian violence and police killings of Black people like George Floyd. They reflect on what it means to be a Filipina woman, an Asian woman at this time, as targets of violence and as resistors of violence.