Skip to Main Content

Education

Recommended resources for students in early childhood and elementary education..

#OwnVoices Books by Black Indigenous, and People of Color Creators

Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History by Vashti Harrison
Call Number: Level-I 920.72 H322L 2017
ISBN: 9780316475112
ESL Collection--3rd Floor
The Wheels on the Tuk Tuk by Kabir Sehgal; Surishtha Sehgal; Jess Golden (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Segha
ISBN: 9781481448314
Publication Date: 2016
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Yo Soy Muslim: A Father's Letter to His Daughter by Mark Gonzales
Call Number: ChildFic Gonza
ISBN: 9781481489362
Publication Date: 2017
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Milo's Museum by Zetta Elliott; Purple Wong (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Ellio
ISBN: 1537580965
Publication Date: 2016
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
A Is for Activist by Innosanto Nagara
Call Number: 421.1 N147a 2013
ISBN: 9781609805395
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Mommy's Khimar by Jamilah Thompkins-Bigelow; Ebony Glenn (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Thomp
ISBN: 9781534400597
Publication Date: 2018
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Festival of Colors by Surishtha Sehgal; Kabir Sehgal; Vashti Harrison (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Sehga
ISBN: 1481420496
Publication Date: 2018
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Be Boy Buzz by Bell Hooks; Chris Raschka (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Hooks
ISBN: 9781484788400
Publication Date: 2016
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Just a Minute: A Trickster Tale and Counting Book by Yuyi Morales
Call Number: Fic Moral
ISBN: 0811864839
Publication Date: 2016
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Crossing Bok Chitto: A Choctaw Tale of Friendship & Freedom by Tim Tingle; Jeanne Rorex Bridges (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Tingl
ISBN: 9781933693200
Publication Date: 2008
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
The Book Itch: Freedom, Truth & Harlem's Greatest Bookstore by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson; R. Gregory Christie (illustrator)
Call Number: Level-B 305.896073 N431b 2015
ISBN: 9780761339434
ESL Collection--3rd Floor
Bee-Bim Bop! by Linda Sue Park; Ho Baek Lee (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Park
ISBN: 9780618265114
Publication Date: 2005
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Mirror =مرآة / جيني بيكر. by Jeannie Baker (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Baker
ISBN: 9780763648480
Publication Date: 2010
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
My Princess Boy by Cheryl Kilodavis; Suzanne DeSimone (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Kilod
ISBN: 1442429887
Publication Date: 2010
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
My Hair Is a Garden by Cozbi A. Cabrera
Call Number: Fic Cabre
ISBN: 080750923X
Publication Date: 2018
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
The People Shall Continue by Simon J. Ortiz; Sharol Graves (illustrator)
Call Number: 970.00497 O778p 2017
ISBN: 9780892391257
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
From the Stars in the Sky to the Fish in the Sea by Kai Cheng Thom; Kai Yun Ching (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Thom
ISBN: 9781551527093
Publication Date: 2018
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
I, Too, Am America by Langston Hughes; Bryan Collier (illustrator)
Call Number: Level-B 811.52 H893i 2012
ISBN: 9781442420083
ESL Collection--3rd Floor
Go Show the World: A Celebration of Indigenous Heroes by Wab Kinew; Joe Morse (illustrator)
Call Number: 970.004970922 K519g 2018
ISBN: 9780735262928
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
They, She, He, Me: Free to Be! by Matthew Smith-Gonzalez; Maya Gonzalez
Call Number: 305.3 G643t 2017
ISBN: 9781945289064
Main Collection--3rd Floor
Freedom in Congo Square by Carole Boston Weatherford; R. Gregory Christie (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Weath
ISBN: 9781499801033
Publication Date: 2016
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
The Big Bed by Bunmi Laditan; Tom Knight (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Ladit
ISBN: 0374301239
Publication Date: 2018
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
When the Beat Was Born: DJ Kool Herc and the Creation of Hip Hop by Laban Carrick Hill; Theodore Taylor (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Hill
ISBN: 9781596435407
Publication Date: 2013
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
You Hold Me Up by Monique Gray Smith; Danielle Daniel (illustrator)
Call Number: Level-B 813.6 G782y 2017
ISBN: 9781459814479
ESL Collection--3rd Floor
Say Hello! by Rachel Isadora (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Isado
ISBN: 9780399252303
Publication Date: 2010
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
We Are Grateful: Otsaliheliga by Traci Sorell; Frané Lessac (illustrator)
Call Number: 970.00497 S713w 2018
ISBN: 9781580897723
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Firebird: Ballerina Misty Copeland Shows A Young Girl How to Dance like the Firebird by Misty Copeland; Christopher Myers (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Copel
ISBN: 9780399166150
Publication Date: 2014
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Bowwow Powwow = Bagosenjige-Niimi'idim by Brenda J. Child; Jonathan Thunder (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Child
ISBN: 9781681340777
Publication Date: 2018
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Jazz Baby by Lisa Wheeler; R. Gregory Christie (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Wheel
ISBN: 9780152025229
Publication Date: 2007
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Shi-Shi-Etko by Nicola Campbell; Kim LaFave (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Campb
ISBN: 0888996594
Publication Date: 2005
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
My Heart Fills with Happiness by Monique Gray Smith; Julie Flett (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Gray
ISBN: 1459809572
Publication Date: 2016
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Niño Wrestles the World by Yuyi Morales (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Moral
ISBN: 9781596436046
Publication Date: 2013
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Little You by Richard Van Camp; Julie Flett (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Vanca
ISBN: 1459802489
Publication Date: 2013
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Happy to Be Nappy by Bell Hooks; Chris Raschka (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic hooks
ISBN: 9781484788417
Publication Date: 2017
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Ellington Was Not a Street by Ntozake Shange; Kadir Nelson (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Shang
ISBN: 9780689828843
Publication Date: 2004
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
One of a Kind, Like Me = Único Como Yo by Laurin Mayeno; Robert Liu-Trujillo (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Mayen
ISBN: 0985351411
Publication Date: 2016
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
I Am Not a Number by Jenny Kay Dupuis; Kathy Kacer; Gillian Newland (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Dupui
ISBN: 9781927583944
Publication Date: 2016
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
When I Was Eight by Christy Jordan-Fenton; Gabrielle Grimard (illustrator)
Call Number: 971.00497092 P761j 2013
ISBN: 9781554514908
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
The Boy & the Bindi by Vivek Shraya; Rajni Perera (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Shray
ISBN: 9781551526683
Publication Date: 2019
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
We Sang You Home by Richard Van Camp; Julie Flett (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Vanca
ISBN: 9781459811782
Publication Date: 2016
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat by Javaka Steptoe
Call Number: 709.2 B316s 2016
ISBN: 9780316213882
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
A Day with Yayah by Nicola I. Campbell; Julie Fleet (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Campb
ISBN: 9781566560412
Publication Date: 2017
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Trombone Shorty by Troy Andrews; Bryan Collier (illustrator)
Call Number: Level-I 781.65092 A571a 2015
ISBN: 9781419714658
ESL Collection--3rd Floor
Mae among the Stars by Roda Ahmed; Stasia Burrington (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Ahmed
ISBN: 9780062651730
Publication Date: 2018
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Under My Hijab by Hena Khan; Aaliya Jaleel (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Khan
ISBN: 9781620147924
Publication Date: 2019
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
When We Were Alone by David A. Robertson; Julie Flett (illustrator)
Call Number: Level-B 971.00497 R648w 2016
ISBN: 9781553796732
ESL Collection--3rd Floor
The Name Jar by Yangsook Choi (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Choi
ISBN: 0440417996
Publication Date: 2003
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
ESL Collection--3rd Floor--Level-B 813.54 C545n 2003
A Boy Called Slow: The True Story of Sitting Bull by Joseph Bruchac; Rocco Baviera (illustrator)
Call Number: 970.00497092 S623b 1998
ISBN: 9780698116160
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Peña; Christian Robinson (illustrator)
Call Number: Fic Delap
ISBN: 9780399257742
Publication Date: 2015
Children's Literature Collection--3rd Floor
Rap a Tap Tap: Here's Bojangles, Think of That! by Leo Dillon; Diane Dillon (illustrators)
Call Number: Level-B 792.78092 R658d 2002
ISBN: 9780590478830
ESL Collection--3rd Floor
The Sockeye Mother by Brett D. Huson; Natasha Donovan (illustrator)
Call Number: 970.00497 H971s 2017
ISBN: 9781553797395
Main Collection--4th Floor
A Native American Thought of It: Amazing Inventions and Innovations by Rocky Landon
Call Number: Level-I 609.97 L259 2008
ISBN: 9781554511549
ESL Collection--3rd Floor