Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

2020 Reference Encyclopedia Selections: The World of Jim Crow America : a Daily Life Encyclopedia

E-title selections for the Highline College Reference Collection

The World of Jim Crow America : a Daily Life Encyclopedia

The World of Jim Crow America : a Daily Life Encyclopedia   Greenwood  2v.  2019   $219 

Similar Titles in E-Reference Collection
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life in America 4v 2009
African American History 3v 2017 
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History 2nd ed. 6v 2006

 

Title overview:  (Publisher website)
Publisher description: What was daily life really like for ordinary African American people in Jim Crow America, the hundred-year period of enforced legal segregation that began immediately after the Civil War and continued until the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and Voting Rights Act of 1965? What did they eat, wear, believe, and think? How did they raise their children? How did they interact with government? What did they value? What did they do for fun?
This Daily Life encyclopedia explores the lives of average people through the examination of social, cultural, and material history. Supported by the most current research, the multivolume set examines social history topics—including family, political, religious, and economic life—as it illuminates elements of a society's emotional life, interactions, opinions, views, beliefs, intimate relationships, and connections between individuals and the greater world. It is broken up into topical sections, each dealing with a different aspect of cultural life. Each section opens with an introductory essay, followed by A–Z entries on various aspects of that topic.


Reviews
CHOICE (2019): The World of Jim Crow America is the latest title in the Greenwood “Daily Life Encyclopedias” series (The World of the Civil War (CH, Mar'16, 53-2921), The World of Antebellum America (CH, Apr'19, 56-3003), etc.), which all share a similar format and section headings ("Arts," "Economics and Work," "Family and Gender," "Fashion and Appearance," etc.). As in previous entries in the series, each signed article features cross-references and further readings. A variety of relevant sidebars are also provided, including extended quotes from primary sources, tables, and brief subentries. The individual articles are packed with details that give insight into the daily life as well as the cultural context of African Americans in the Jim Crow era. Reich (James Madison) offers an approachable text that does not assume background knowledge, making it an effective reference work for general readers and undergraduates. Reich’s previous publications include Encyclopedia of the Great Black Migration and Working People: A History of African American Workers Since Emancipation (CH, Mar'14, 51-3945).

 

Sample articles