Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

2020 Reference Encyclopedia Selections: Women in the American Political System: an Encyclopedia

E-title selections for the Highline College Reference Collection

Women in the American Political System: an Encyclopedia of Women as Voters, Candidates, and Office Holders

Women in the American Political System: an Encyclopedia of Women as Voters, Candidates, and Office Holders  ABC-CLIO 2v.  2019  $218

Similar Titles in E-Reference Collection

Women in American Politics : History and Milestones CQ Press  2v 2012
Women in American History : A Social, Political, and Cultural Encyclopedia ABC-CLIO  4v 2017
American Women 3v 2016

Title overview   (Publisher website)
Publisher description: This book provides an encyclopedic sourcebook on the evolution of women's involvement in American politics from the colonial era to the present, covering all of the individuals, organizations, cultural forces, political issues, and legal decisions that have collectively served to elevate the role of women at the ballot box, on the campaign trail, in Washington, and in state- and city-level political offices across the country. The in-depth essays document and examine the rising prominence of women as voters, candidates, public officials, and lawmakers, enabling readers to understand how U.S. political processes and institutions have been—and will continue to be—shaped by women and their perspectives on American life and values.
The entries cover a range of women politicians and officials; female activists and media figures; relevant organizations and interest groups, such as Emily's List, League of Women Voters, and National Right to Life; key laws, court cases, and events, such as the Nineteenth Amendment, the Equal Rights Amendment, the Seneca Falls Convention, the passage of Title IX, and Roe v. Wade; and other topics, like media coverage of appearance, women's roles as campaign strategists/fundraisers, gender differences in policy priorities, and the gender gap in political ambitions. The text is supplemented by sidebars that highlight selected landmarks in women's political history in the United States, such as the 2012 election of Tammy Baldwin, the first openly gay U.S. senator.

 

Reviews
CHOICE  (2019):  Bystrom and Burrell coedited this encyclopedia containing entries from over 40 contributors. This work is a compilation of 270 entries about women in elected and appointed political office, women's organizations, movements, laws, and court decisions that impact women in the United States. Additional content includes entries on women journalists, sociological topics like gender issues, voting behaviors, and more. The variety of topics include women from political office, leaders of political movements, organizations like the Daughters of the American Revolution, and even Juliette Gordon Low, the founder of the Girl Scouts. Each signed entry is listed in alphabetical order and includes the entry with illustrations, further readings, and cross-references. In addition to the brief entries the set includes five essays on women as voters, candidates, elected officials, appointed officials, and members of the judiciary. There are over twenty primary source documents, which include speeches, court decisions, laws, and a chronology of significant events in women's history between 1848 and 2017. The target audience for this resource includes high school students, college undergraduates, and interested general readers. Recommended for public and undergraduate library collections with a focus in political science or women's issues.

 

Sample Articles