Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

2020 Reference Encyclopedia Selections: Black Power Encyclopedia

E-title selections for the Highline College Reference Collection

Black Power Encyclopedia: From "Black Is Beautiful" to Urban Uprisings.

Black Power Encyclopedia: From "Black Is Beautiful" to Urban Uprisings. Greenwood   2 v. 2018   $218   

Similar Titles in E-Reference Collection
African American History 3v 2017 
African Americans 5v 2011
Encyclopedia of African American History 3v 2010
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History 2nd ed. 6v 2006

Title overview:  (Publisher website)
Publisher description: Unlike the Civil Rights Movement's emphasis on the rhetoric and practice of nonviolence and social and political goal of integration, Black Power was defined by the promotion of Black self-determination, Black consciousness, independent Black politics, and the practice of armed self-defense. Black Power changed communities, curriculums, and culture in the United States and served as an inspiration for social justice internationally. This unique two-volume set provides readers with an understanding of Black Power's important role in the turbulence, social change, and politics of the 1960s and 1970s in America and how the concepts of the movement continue to influence contemporary Black politics, culture, and identity.
Cross-disciplinary and broad in its approach, Black Power Encyclopedia: From "Black Is Beautiful" to Urban Uprisings explores the emergence and evolution of the Black Power Movement in the United States some 50 years ago. The entries examine the key players, organizations and institutions, trends, and events of the period, enabling readers to better understand the ways in which African Americans broke through racial barriers, developed a positive identity, and began to feel united through racial pride and the formation of important social change organizations. The encyclopedia also covers the important impact of the more militant segments of the movement, such as Malcolm X and the Nation of Islam and the Black Panthers.

 

Reviews
Library Journal (2018): Addressing the major personalities, events, organizations, ideologies, themes, trends, and impacts of Black Power, Umoja (African American studies, Georgia State Univ.), Karin L. Stanford (political science & Africana studies, California State Univ., Northridge), and historian Jasmin A. Young provide an in-depth look at one of the most controversial, influential, and fascinating movements of the 1960s and 1970s. Excerpts from multiple primary sources lend authenticity, authority, and gravitas. Indispensable for anyone with an interest in African American studies, American cultural studies, or the study of race.

CHOICE (2018): This attractive two-volume set is an ideal gateway for students who want to begin researching the people, events, and philosophies of the Black Power movement in the US. Entries provide clear information about each topic and direct readers to related articles. Each entry concludes with a bibliography to facilitate in-depth research. Primary source documents accompany some entries, giving students the opportunity to read court documents, oral histories, and speeches for themselves. The entry on Stokely Carmichael, for example, is enhanced by a 19-page speech he gave in 1967. In addition to the comprehensive entries, alphabetized across two volumes, the encyclopedia begins with a 14-page narrative introduction to the movement for readers unfamiliar with its origins, a detailed 20-page chronology, and five overview essays exploring key elements of the movement, including armed resistance, the intersection of the movement with gender issues, and urban rebellions. A single index concludes the work. The volumes are illustrated with photographs throughout.  Summing Up: Highly recommended for high school, college, and university libraries.
 

Sample articles