Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

2020 Reference Encyclopedia Selections: Indigenous Peoples: an Encyclopedia of Culture, History, and Threats to Survival

E-title selections for the Highline College Reference Collection

Indigenous Peoples: an Encyclopedia of Culture, History, and Threats to Survival

Indigenous Peoples: an Encyclopedia of Culture, History, and Threats to Survival  ABC-CLIO  4v.  2020   $478
 

Similar Titles in E-Reference Collection
Native Peoples of the World : An Encyclopedia of Groups, Cultures, and Contemporary Issues 2013  1v.

 

Title overview (publisher website)
Publisher description: Perfect for readers looking to learn more about cultural groups around the world, this four-volume work examines approximately 400 indigenous groups globally. The encyclopedia investigates the history, social structure, and culture of peoples from all corners of the world, including their role in the world, their politics, and their customs and traditions. Alphabetically arranged entries focus on groups living in all world regions, some of which are well-known with large populations, and others that are lesser-known with only a handful of surviving members.
Each entry includes sections on the group's geography and environment; history and politics; society, culture, and tradition; access to health care and education; and threats to survival. Each entry concludes with See Also cross-references and a list of Further Reading resources to guide readers in their research. Included in the encyclopedia are also Native Voices inset boxes, allowing readers a glimpse into the daily lives of members of these indigenous groups, as well as an appendix featuring the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

 

No reviews available


Sample Articles