Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

2020 Reference Encyclopedia Selections: Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health, 2nd Ed.

E-title selections for the Highline College Reference Collection

Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health, 2nd Ed.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health, 2nd Ed.   Gale  2v. 2020   $ 635.80

Similar Titles in E-Reference Collection
The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health 2nd ed. 2v 2019
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine 5th ed. 9v 2015  
Human Diseases and Conditions 3rd ed. 4v 2017  

Title overview (publisher website)
Publisher description: The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health is an authoritative source on public health issues. Topics focus on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic (local) and pandemic (widespread) diseases (H1N1, Malaria, food-borne illnesses, West Nile etc.); chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying and new substance abuse issues, plus much more. Entries describe the origin and spread of the issue, public and government reaction and response, and treatments and preventive measures. Entries also include resources for further information, full-color illustrations and photographs, statistical tables, and Key Terms sidebars; the book also provides contact information for organizations and government programs, a glossary, cross references, and an index.

Reviews
Library Journal (2020) Available in either two printed volumes or as an ebook, this thorough, well-written work from Henderson (content strategist, public & K-12 libraries, Gale) and Narins (senior content developer, Gale) is scholarly yet accessible to general readers. At first glance, 285 entries may seem a small number for an encyclopedia totaling more than 1,000 pages, but each entry is detailed, well written, and of sufficient depth to provide context and clarity. Each entry includes a thorough list of resources. Well-cited illustrations and figures add value to the articles—for instance, the "Chronology of Ebola virus disease outbreaks" indicates the number of cases and the location of each outbreak, spanning 1976 to the present. Many entries also feature a sidebar of "Questions To Ask Your Doctor" for those living with a specific disease or condition. VERDICT A worthy effort that will be helpful for general readers at public libraries, for high school students, and for early-level undergraduates. A comparable work is ABC-CLIO's Encyclopedia of Public Health: Principles, People, Programs, which emphasizes people from the history of public health along with diseases, conditions, and our efforts to combat them.

Articles