|
|
| Subject Guides | Information Literacy |
| Find It! Links | |
|
Find It!
Services
Contact Us
About Us
| |
|
|
|
Click here to view all the databases in one list.
Click here if you need help from accessing the databases from off-campus.
Periodicals Holdings List - A complete list of electronic and print periodicals.
ABI Inform Trade & Industry
(ProQuest)
Available off campus with student ID
Search more than 750 business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus. Provides users with the
latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics.
Contains publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and many more.
Academic: LexisNexis
Available off campus with student ID.
LexisNexis Academic is divided into business, legal, news, medical and reference modules. It provides access to access
to nearly 6,000 titles including periodical articles, radio and television transcripts, federal and state codes and case
law, company profiles, opinion polls, and more.
Title List
Academic Search Complete
(Ebsco)
Available off campus with student ID.
A scholarly, full-text database, with more than 5,301 full-text periodicals,
including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Covers virtually every academic subject.
It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total
of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings,
etc. It features some PDF content going back as far as 1865.
Title List
Table of Contents/Journal Alert help
Ebsco Tutorials (flash)
Access Science
Available off campus with student ID.
Access Science is the online version of the eighth edition of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. In
addition, it includes current articles about new developments in science and technology.
Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest)
Available off campus with student ID.
Alt-Press Watch is a full text database comprised of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and
independent press.
ARBA Online
(Greenwood)
Available on campus only.
American Reference Books Annual reviews of reference books.
Britannica Online
Available off campus with student ID.
The complete Encyclopaedia Britannica plus links to
well-chosen websites, leading magazines and related books.
Business Source Complete (Ebsco)
Available off campus with student ID.
Provides access to nearly 2900 full text business journals
including 1400 peer reviewed titles. Covers all disciplines
of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM,
accounting, finance and economics. Also includes financial data, books,
monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference
proceedings, case studies, investment research reports,
industry reports, market research reports, country reports,
company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
ChoiceReviews.online
Available off campus with student ID.
The electronic version of the monthly journal, CHOICE: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries. It reviews
significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education.
Classification Web Password required, ask a librarian.
College Source Online
Available off campus with student ID.
Access to "over 11,600 College Catalogs including 2-year,
4-year, graduate, and professional schools."
CQ Researcher
Available off campus with student ID.
"The single-themed CQ
Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage
of political and social issues, with regular reports on
topics in health, international affairs, education, the
environment, technology and the U.S. economy." It
includes CQ Global Researcher which can be searched
separately with this
link.
Culture Grams
Available off campus with student ID.
Offers concise,
reliable, and up-to-date reports on 187 countries of the
world and the 50 States. Culture Grams go beyond
mere facts and figures to deliver an insider's perspective
on daily life and culture, including the history, customs,
and lifestyles of the world's people.
Directory of Open
Access Journals
Available anywhere!
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled
scientific and scholarly journals. Covers all subjects and
languages. There are now 2113 journals in the directory.
Currently 567 journals are searchable at article level.
Ebrary Books
Available off campus with student ID.
Special
Reader software required.
Access to 31,000 electronic, academic books in full
text.
Ebsco databases
Available off campus with student ID.
Access to Academic Search Premier, PsycARTICLES, and Literary Reference Center.
Ebsco Tutorials (flash)
Table of Contents/Journal Alert help
Elibrary Available off campus with student ID.
A gateway to a wide variety of sources including TV and radio transcripts, magazine articles, reference books, newspapers, maps, pictures, audio and video clips.
Encyclopedia of
Science,Technology, and Ethics
Available off campus with student ID.
"This encyclopedia considers both the professional ethics of science and
technology, and the social, ethical, and political issues
raised by science and technology..."
Encyclopedia of World War II (ABC-Clio)
Available off campus with student ID.
Online version of Encyclopedia of World War II: a
Political, Social, and Military History.
Environmental Encyclopedia (Gale Virtual Reference Library) Available
off campus with student ID.
Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues.
ERIC Available anywhere!
This is the major index for educational
journals and documents. Interlibrary
loan is available for journals and documents that HCC
library does not own. Ask a librarian for assistance.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Available off campus with student ID.
A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority
and native press in the United States.
First Search (OCLC)
Password required, ask a librarian; available off campus.
Provides access to a collection of databases in a variety of
subjects and disciplines.
Descriptions of First Search databases.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Available off campus with student ID.
Environmental Encyclopedia provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental
issues.
Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics
"considers both the professional ethics of science and
technology, and the social, ethical, and political issues
raised by science and technology..."
Google Scholar
Available anywhere!
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Only some of the articles are
available in full text. "From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed
papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories,
universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across
the world of scholarly research."
GPO Access (U.S.
Government Printing Office)
Available anywhere!
GPO Access is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of
important information products produced by the Federal Government.
Hoover Company Reports (part of LexisNexis Academic)
Available off campus with student ID.
A direct link to search company profiles in the Academic database.
Human Resource Desktop Reference
Available off campus.
A human resource reference for the State of Washington from the Department of Personnel.
J-Stor Arts and Sciences Collection I & II
Available off campus.
Academic research articles in a range of disciplines including: economics, history, political science, sociology, ecology, mathematics,
and statistics. The collection includes over 200 journal titles, with additional coverage in Asian studies,
archaeology, classics, and African, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and Slavic studies.
Tutorials
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts
(Ebsco)
Available off campus with password.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts,(LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings.
Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval,
information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Ebsco Tutorials (flash)
Literary Reference Center (Ebsco)
Available off campus with a password.
Provides access to literary criticism, author biographies and other literary information. Includes over 300 full
text, literary journals.
Lois Law Washington Law Books
Password required, ask a librarian.
Legal resources for the State of Washington.
Merck Manual of Medical Diseases
(Merck) free website
"Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, their symptoms, how they're
diagnosed, how they might be prevented, and how they
can be treated; also
provides information about prognosis. Provided free of charge on the Internet by
Merck & Co., Inc., as a public service on a non-profit basis." (from publisher)
National Newspapers (ProQuest)
Available off campus with student ID.
"Coverage of 5 major newspapers, including The New York
Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles
Times and the Christian Science Monitor."
New York Times Historical Database
(ProQuest)
Available off campus with student ID.
Offers full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times newspaper dating back to 1851 up to 2003.
Nursing, search
Academic Search Premier You can limit your search
to "Nursing Titles."
Occupational Outlook Handbook (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
An annual publication that provides information on a wide
variety of careers. Included for each career is the nature
of the work, working conditions, employment, training
(includes other qualifications and advancement), job
outlook, earnings, related occupations, and sources of other
information.
OCLC WorldCat and Pacific Northwest First Search
Available off campus with student ID.
Provides access to the
largest union catalog, containing holdings for libraries
worldwide. Also provides access to eight other
databases which do not include full text.
OCLC First Search
Password required,
ask a librarian; available off campus.
Provides access to a collection of databases in a variety of
subjects and disciplines.
Descriptions of First Search databases.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale)
Available off campus with student ID.
"covers social issues,
such as Gun Control, Genetic Engineering, Censorship,
Endangered Species, and Terrorism. Opposing Viewpoints
Resource Center brings together viewpoint articles,
contextual topic overviews, government and organizational
statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases,
profiles of government agencies and special interest groups,
newspaper and magazines articles, primary source documents,
images, and a collection of subject-indexed Web sites."
Ovid Resource of the Month -
Available anywhere. Free trial.
Database changes monthly.
ProQuest Direct
Available off campus with student ID.
ProQuest Direct contains full-text
articles from over 2600 magazines, journals, and
newspapers. Title
List
Training Quick Start Guides
Psychology, see PsycARTICLESbelow.
PsycARTICLES (Ebsco)
Available off campus with student ID.
Full text articles from more than 40 APA (American
Psychological Association) journals.
Table of Contents/Journal
Alert help
Ebsco Tutorials (flash)
PubMed
Available anywhere!
National Library of Medicine's free
periodical index to medical journals.
Interlibrary loan is available for journals that HCC library
does not own. Ask a librarian for assistance.
STAT-USA
Available off campus with student ID.
"STAT-USA/Internet, a service of the U.S. Department of Commerce,
is a single point of access to authoritative business, trade, and economic information from across the Federal
Government. "
Thunderword
Highline's student newspaper 1962- Oct. 2006 arranged by date.
Paper copies up to the present issue available at the
Library Circulation counter.
University of California Press eScholarship Editions
Available anywhere!
A collection of online books, 350 of which are available
free to the public.
Washington State Newsstand (ProQuest)
Available off campus with student ID.
Full-text coverage of major Washington newspapers including
the daily newspapers from Seattle, Tacoma, Spokane and
Vancouver, plus selected coverage of other regional sources.
Westlaw Paralegal
Available off
campus with password.
This database is available only to students
and faculty in the HCC Paralegal Program. Students must
have paid a fee to
use the database. Students who have paid the fee should
contact the Paralegal Department faculty for passwords.
WOIS (Washington Occupational Information System)
Password required, ask a librarian; available off campus.
Contains information about
careers, schools and training programs in Washington state.
WorldCat & First Search Pacific Northwest Available off campus with student ID.
Provides access to the
largest union catalog, containing holdings for libraries
worldwide. Also provides access to eight other
databases which do not have full text.
|
kfernand@highline.edu
|
|
Research Resources
|