Skip to main content
Close

Ask a Librarian!

Need help with Research? Have a general question about the library's resources or services? We're here to help!

There are a number of ways in which you can reach us:

Chat with a Librarian 24/7. Need help now? Click here to chat with a librarian 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Email us at refhelp@highline.edu.  When sending email, please allow 24 hours for a librarian to respond.

Call a Reference librarian at (206) 592-3232 (on-campus extension 3232) during library hours.

Visit the Reference Desk, located on the Library Plaza Level (2nd Floor) during library hours.

Cite Sources: APA Format

Learn how to cite your sources and avoid plagiarism.

APA Format Exercise

APA Format Exercise

Open and use this handy guide to help you prepare citations for each of your sources. There's a worksheet for each:

  • Reference source
  • Periodical source from an online database like ProQuest or Academic Search Complete
  • Web source

Sample APA Paper

Sample Paper

An APA style paper to help you format your own paper.

Printable Guide

Printable Guide [PDF version]

These are succinct, well-laid out guides that cover the most common citation situations and give examples of each.

Additional APA Sources

Additional Sources -providing more in-depth information and examples

Frequently Asked Questions about APA Style American Psychological Association (2010 ed.) Includes information about citing web sites, etc.

Electronic Sources Guide Have questions specifically about citing electronic resources? Look here!

In-text Citations for APA style (2010 ed.) Includes a table with information on how to do in-text citations for multiple authors.

Referencing Sources in APA Style: A Basic Introduction (Video -- covers how to do in-text citations)

APA Style Reference List: How to Reference Journal Articles (Video -- covers how to cite journal articles)

The Alvin Sherman Library  Includes a collection of How Do I Cite? videos

The OWL at Purdue  A great source for APA formatting and style, with examples.

Duke University Library Provides examples for all citation styles in Citing Sources Within Your Paper and Assembling a List of Works Cited.

Using a DOI vs. a URL in APA Style (2010 ed.) Shows when to use a DOI and when to use a URL in your APA citations.

Acknowledging, Paraphrasing, and Quoting Sources From the Writing Center at University of Wisconsin - Madison, this guide gives examples of successful and unsuccessful paraphrasing.

Annotated Bibliography Example

APA Tutorial

Tutorial

This is an excellent tutorial. You can click to the specific information you need.

Citation Worksheet

Foreign Citation & Decoding Worksheet

Practice decoding citations with this worksheet.

Citation Software

Citation Machine (The Landmark Project)

In-Text Citations